The Kennedy Center Logo

SHIFT A Festival of American Orchestras: North Carolina Symphony

This event is no longer on sale.

SHIFT A Festival of American Orchestras: North Carolina Symphony

The orchestra offers an innovative program, deeply evocative of North Carolina, represented in particular by four composers with ties to the state: Pulitzer Prize winner Caroline Shaw, Sarah Kirkland Snider, Mason Bates, and Robert Ward.

Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:00 PM

Concert Hall

Approx. 1-3/4 hours



Grant Llewellyn conducts an innovative concert of music straight from the heart of the orchestra's home--including a North Carolina Symphony commission from Sarah Kirkland Snider that features a multimedia meditation on her family's home in rural North Carolina. The evening also features music by three more composers with strong ties to the state: Mason Bates's Rusty Air in Carolina, Robert Ward's Jubilation Overture and City of Oaks, and Pulitzer Prize winner Caroline Shaw's Lo, a North Carolina Symphony co-commission for which Shaw joins the orchestra as a violin soloist.

SHIFT is co-presented by Washington Performing Arts and the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

Performance Timing: Approximately 1-3/4 hours, with one 15-minute intermission.


Caroline Shaw click to watch the video
Five Questions with Composer and Musician Caroline Shaw